Conference championships roundup

Written by Administrator - Wednesday, 06 May 2015

In every conference listed here (except the the Southern States Athletic Conference, which had a winner-take-all final), the title was decided by an “if necessary” game. ISR's mentioned here are as of May 6.

Cal State San Marcos (ISR #13) won the Association of Independent Institutions championship for the third time in five years. They lost the first “final” to #1 Georgia Gwinnett 2-1. The Grizzlies out-hit the Cougars 11-5, and SS Ernesto Vasquez hit an RBI single for the winning run. CSUSM won the deciding game 11-5. The Cougars got five runs in the first inning, and added four more in the second. LF Clinton Perez hit an RBI single for the winning run. Emilio Esquibel got his second win of the tournament, and ran his record to 12-1, 2.43 ERA. Story Georgia Gwinnett will host an Opening Round bracket.

#2 Oklahoma City won the Sooner Athletic Conference tournament, defeating #3 Oklahoma Baptist twice, 9-6 and 7-5. The Stars trailed in the late innings of both games. They scored four runs in the eighth inning of the first one. In the second one, C Connor Lynch hit a grand slam home run in the bottom of the ninth. Story Both Oklahoma City and Oklahoma Baptist are hosting Opening Round brackets.

Published in Game accounts

Recap for February 28

Written by Administrator - Monday, 28 February 2011

Cumberland won two of three against Brewton-Parker and split a double-header with Indiana Tech. The wins over Brewton-Parker were 2-0 and 7-6. Aaron Wilkerson got his 16th straight win in the shutout, allowing one hit in seven innings of work. Keith Kirby pitched the final two innings, and LF Richie Seaton singled in both runs. C David Fanshawe went 3-4 in the second win, and batted in the winning run. In the third game, however, the Bulldogs were mercy-ruled by the Barons, 13-0 after five innings. Daniel Miller held the Bulldogs to one hit.

The Bulldogs won the first game against Indiana Tech 6-3; Matt Vance got the win, and 3B Tommy Crews batted in the winning run. The score of the second game was 5-3; LF Gary King batted in the winning run, 1B Riley Muhlenkamp hit a home run, and Brandon Alger got the win.

The Bulldogs are now 9-3. They travel to Freed-Hardeman March 4-5, and Texas Wesleyan March 7.

Lee defeated Rio Grande 4-1; Curtis Camilli allowed three hits over seven innings, and Roberto Reyes hit a three-run home run. The Flames then won three of four against Iowa Wesleyan. Shay Crawford pitched a seven-inning one hitter in the first game, a 7-0 win for the Flames. Iowa Wesleyan won the second game 2-1; both of the Tigers' runs were unearned. Jorge Martinez went the seven-inning distance for the Tigers, allowed five hits. The Flames won the remaining two games 2-1 and 17-2; Jay Bolen and Joe Fabre combined to hold the Tigers to four hits in the 2-1 win.

Published in Game accounts

Duane Monlux is new Bellevue coach

Written by Administrator - Tuesday, 21 September 2010

Duane Monlux, Head Coach at Dickinson State for the past nine season, is the new Head Coach at Bellevue.

Monlux had a record of 232-167-2 at Dickinson State, and the Blue Hawks won three regular season and three tournament championships in the Dakota Athletic Conference. They finished 30-19 in 2010.

Monlux earned a BS at Dickinson State, and played football, baseball, and basketball there. He was a two-time All-American in football; in 1995, he led the nation in kickoff return average (33.7 yards per return). He ranks second in Dickinson State football history for touchdowns scored in a career (43) and points scored in a career (262). After graduation, he played indoor football for four seasons. He was also an assistant football coach at Dickinson State.

Published in General